The Congress “What if beauty could change the world ?” was born at the beginning of 1990 from a meeting between two people:

 

Oliver Fenoy was then Director of the Office Culturel de Cluny, a French Federation of cultural associations, working in fields such as theatre, cultural animation , artistic education, architecture, town planning and heritage...

 

Umberto Dell'Acqua was president of “Pedagogia global”, an organisation of Italian self-training of individuals working in the various fields of social action.

Their respective experiences, questioning shared by people with whom they worked, the challenge and the complexity of the contemporary era, brought them to imagine an open “meeting place” where those who try, through beauty, to work at creating a world where human beings can flourish, share, renew, enrich one another in the diversity of their areas of activity.

Since 1993, different editions of the Congress have been the opportunity to explore, in the heart of different European cultures, a few facets of beauty and with a range of participants of high great quality.

Le Congrès « Et si la beauté pouvait sauver le monde ? » est né au début des années 1990 d'une rencontre entre deux personnes :

Olivier Fenoy était alors comédien, français et avait été à l'origine d'une association culturelle oeuvrant dans des domaines tels que le théâtre, l'animation culturelle, l'éducation artistique, l'architecture.

Umberto dell'Acqua, italien, était président d'un organisme d'auto-formation italien rassemblant des personnes oeuvrant dans les différents champs de l'action sociale.

Leur expérience respective, les questionnements partagés par les personnes avec qui ils travaillaient, face aux défis et à la complexité de l'époque contemporaine, les ont amenés à imaginer un "lieu" de rencontres ouvert, où ceux qui tentent d'oeuvrer par la beauté à un monde où la personne humaine puisse s'épanouir, pourraient échanger, se renouveler, s'enrichir mutuellement dans la diversité de leurs domaines d'activité.

Si les deux initiateurs ont laissé la place, les acteurs du congrès se sont diversifiés, renouvelés, et depuis 1993, les différentes éditions du congrès ont été l’occasion d’explorer, au coeur de différentes cultures européennes, puis au Canada, quelques facettes de la beauté avec une palette d’intervenants de grande qualité.